Book Review: The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally. 

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.

Have you read Kagawa’s The Immortal Rules?  Check out my review here

Well, let’s start at the beginning: The Eternity Cure starts off a few months after the end of the heart stopping Immortal Rules with our heroine travelling alone across the desolate former United States in order to find and save her maker. 

Something that I really enjoyed in this novel was the evolution of Jackal’s character.  Even when I was almost 80% finished with the book I was never quite sure of which team Jackal was playing for: other than Team himself. I loved how the friendship developed between Jackal and Allie and how they worked together despite their somewhat intense initial dislike of one another.  In addition, we finally learned about Jackal’s past and what made him into the disillusioned Vampire he became. 

Allie’s dislike for her Vampirism was almost non-existent at the beginning of this novel (it does reemerge later), as the journey from The Immortal Rules hardened her and made her much stronger as an individual.  I really admired her willingness to keep fighting for her maker Kanin, and I think that his suffering was something that the narrative needed to kick Allie into high gear and make her a more proactive main character.  

I was completely surprised at Zeke’s reappearance in this novel, because I was fairly certain he would have stayed in Eden with the rest of his crew, and we would get to see a romance develop between Allie and a new character.  However, once Zeke was reintegrated into the narrative, it made the story much stronger.  He has been through hardships during his time trying to find Allie across the country, and it has made him cynical and somehow an even better leader.  Basically the theme of my review is how wonderful Kagawa’s character development was in this novel. 

Sarrin, who was the main foe throughout this novel, really freaked me out as a reader and he really jumped off the page.  His part in the story is not finished, and let me tell you that the ending is going to thrill you, chill you, and fulfill you….and make it super hard to wait for the third book. 


Overall I loved The Eternity Cure just as much as I adored The Immortal Rules, and I cannot say enough how wonderful your reading experience will be. 

4.5 Bards


Leave a comment