Book Review: I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

What if the world’s worst serial killer…was your dad?

Jasper (Jazz) Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.

But he’s also the son of the world’s most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, Take Your Son to Work Day was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they could–from the criminal’s point of view.

And now bodies are piling up in Lobo’s Nod.

In an effort to clear his name, Jazz joins the police in a hunt for a new serial killer. But Jazz has a secret–could he be more like his father than anyone knows

This book was amazing. 

It has all the elements that makes up a well-written and plotted young adult novel: likable characters will believable flaws, a strong point of view choice, a complex plot, interesting parent-child dynamics, and the story is not driven by a sappy love story.

When I first read the synopsis, I knew I had to get my hands on this book because it involves a serial killer.  Serial killers are so psychologically fascinating, and I couldn’t wait to see how Lyga represented a sociopath.  Another aspect I wanted to see in this novel was how gory a young adult author could really get when describing murders and habits of serial killers.  In fact, most books that involve death or murder don’t describe the scene much, other than just stating how the person died.  I love that Lyga respects the intelligence and maturity of the reader by giving us the details at the crime scenes. 

The mystery aspect of this novel was well done, and I like that “The Impressionist” was using details from Jazz’s fathers original crimes to select his victims.  It really allowed the story to go in directions I wasn’t expecting–especially when it came to the killer’s chosen victims.  Those really took me by surprise.  I can say that I did figure out who the murderer was prior to the reveal, but it did not take away from my reading experience.

I look forward to the upcoming sequel, especially after that ending!  Lyga has a fan in me.

4.5 Bards.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

Leave a comment