Top Ten Tuesdays!

Every week The Broke and the Bookish hosts a weekly meme called Top Ten Tuesday! Every Tuesday has a different Top Ten Topic (posted ahead of time for participants) and this week’s topic is:

Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters In Books

These characters are in no particular order, and they are in GENERAL my favorite characters!  (There are so many that didn’t make the list, but I can’t let everyone in the Top Ten!) 
1. Alice from Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
I can’t help it…Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite books of all time, and the whimsical themes capture me every time I read it 🙂 
2. Finnikin from Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Finnikin is a stubborn, know-it-all who has to be right, and I love him for it.  He is a strong yet vulnerable character that Marchetta has created.  I can’t help but love him and love every choice that he makes no matter how irritated I get with him (that is the true sign of a great character!)
3. Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
I realize that Heathcliff is most famously known as an anti-hero in Victorian literature, but his absolute, unending love for Catherine Earnshaw never ceases to capture my heart.  In fact, I’ve even tweeted before, “Where is my Heathcliff?” 
4. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
I think this one is somewhat self-explanatory. 
5. Sookie Stackhouse from the Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlaine Harris 
Anna Paquin has definitely embodied Sookie Stackhouse the way that I imagined her, and I can’t imagine another actress who could do her justice.  I’m not going to lie, though, still disappointed that they haven’t explored the Sookie/Eric relationship to its full extent! 
6. Tessa Gray from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
She loves books, she has great taste in men, and she lives in the Victorian Era. Need I say more? 
7. Tris Prior from Divergent by Veronica Roth
Tris, quite possibly, has all the bravery that I wish I’ve had throughout my life!  (And her love interest is wonderful. FOUR!) I’d like to think that if I was Divergent…I’d have similar choices to Tris.  I identify with her on so many levels. 
8. Edna Pontellier from The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Edna Pontellier is one of the quintessential women of the late 19th and early 20th century.  Not only did she defy the social fabric of the time, but she was sexually and emotionally liberated through the course of the novel!  And, it is really great to look at from a literary critic’s standpoint.  
9. Jericho Barrons and/or MacKayla Lane from the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. 
I couldn’t choose between the two, so I choose both.  They are both sexy, smart, sarcastic, and they fight so hard against each other when they love one another.  I can’t help it.  I love them both. 
10.  William Herondale from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
I couldn’t put Tessa on here without putting Will!  As much as I love Jem (I do, I swear!), Will is Tessa’s true soulmate.  They both love books, they are both sarcastic and somewhat pessimistic…I can’t help but to root for them.  I do love him.  
Who are some of your favorite Characters? 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays!

Leave a comment